When serving the first serve, stand behind the baseline between the center mark and the right sideline. The ball is hit diagonally into the service box on the other side of the net, on the opposite side of the center mark from which the server is serving. And remember, you’re not allowed to step on or over the baseline before hitting the ball.
The serve is a let if: The served ball touches the net, strap or band, and lands in the correct court. The served ball touches the net, strap or band and then touches the receiver, the receiver’s partner or anything they wear or carry before hitting the ground. The ball is served when the receiver is not ready.
No, reaching over the net with your racket is not allowed in tennis. You need the ball to have reached your side of the court first. The only exception to this is if the ball lands on your side and either due to the spin on the ball or the wind, the ball bounces back over the net and onto the other side of the court.
When a serve hits the tennis net and the ball lands inside the service box or court, this is considered a let in tennis. The server is allowed to make that serve again. If the serve hits the tennis net but lands outside the service court, it is considered a fault. For a new tennis player, the name LET can be confusing.
A good serve should be hit diagonally opposite over the net onto the service box. This picture below resumes the rule: Serve 1 must hit the service box 1, before the receiver receives the ball. Serve 2 must hit the service box 2, before the receiver receives the ball. Tennis service rules.
Rules on Let Serves. The serve is a let if: The served ball touches the net, strap or band, and lands in the correct court. The served ball touches the net, strap or band and then touches the receiver, the receiver’s partner or anything they wear or carry before hitting the ground.
You are not allowed to touch the net with anything until the point is over in a game of tennis. This is duly covered in ITF rule 24g. In the rule, it is even stated that if any part of your body, your item of clothing or even your racket touches the net or the net posts while the ball is still in play, then the point is awarded to your opponent.
Can the Ball Hit the Net in Tennis? (6 Scenarios Explained) 1. The First Serve Hits the Net and Stops This is a clear fault. The rule states that when a ball fails to clear the... 2. The Second Serve Hits the Net and Stops The second attempt is statistically more successful than the first. This ...